Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

5.0 out of 5.0

The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

5.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel itself is beautiful. You enter the historic property surrounded by lush topiary and are greeted with an authentic lei. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a gorgeous courtyard in the center of the hotel. The pool is a little small but they have a relationship with a nearby hotel that has a much nicer, larger pool and water slide. That said, it is difficult to find available lounge chairs at either location, as most of them must be rented. The restaurant leave something to be desired as well, as the food/drink is overpriced and mediocre.

The location was fantastic. Just nestled away in a quiet surrounding, but still in the heart of all the action and fun.

Hot tub closing at 6? Asinine for any hotel, much less a high rated resort!

Check in staff was horrible. Valet staff always amazing.

Long walk to rooms no snack foods or a starbucks very small pool

great location, exquisite facility, friendly stuff

Close to restaurants, shopping and beach. No adult room in hot tutor pool. Filled with kids all day and night. No coffee makers in rooms and the trash cans are microscopic.

Service was awful at front and concierage area person was condescending. Took over 1 hour to check in as hotel could not find Orbitz reservation. Pool was small and looked like a kiddie pool so ended up going over to Sheraton pool. Hotel was “dated” and after looking at other hotel options while on trip close to RH they were better and cheaper. Very disappointed and would not stay there again as nothing “Royal” about it.

Staff was customer friendly starting with the bell hop, to staff checking us in, concierge service, along with folks at the pool

Like the location, the beach, the best Mai Tai's on Oahu. It has the best beach area.

The room was clean but there were silver fish (bugs) in the bathtub late at night.

Everything we expected and more. This is a first time booking with Orbitz and very satisfied. We did upgrade the room from the 4th floor to the twelfth for an additional $50/night, but it was worth it for the view Would recommend.

The hotel (many Starwood hotels taken over by Marriott) was suffering from a strike. I fully support the workers' rights to strike. The hotel, however, did not tell me in advance. Rather than have a fully luxury experience, it was as if we were in a beautiful hotel that had closed for the season, and we happened to still be there. Upon arrival were were told that we were "lucky" because we would have housekeeping service every days. That is standard fare for a luxury hotel; I am not "lucky" to pay for full service and receive half of that. The lady at the front desk was young, so I blamed poor Marriott training, not her personally. The restaurants were closed for all but the most basic breakfast service, which was interrupted by strikers. I am terribly disappointed in Marriott. Our extra-special dollars to stay here were not worth it. I might come back to see the hotel in its glory some day, but I am more likely to find non-Marriott locations.

Picketing workers were loud and rude to guests, the hotel facilities were very limited.

2259 Kalakaua Avenue Honolulu HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Royal Hawaiian Center and Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Waikiki, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki is adjacent to Royal Hawaiian Center and within a 5-minute walk of other popular sights like Waikiki Beach Walk. This 528-room, 5-star resort has 2 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and 4 restaurants.


Dining

Relish the Hawaiian cuisine when dining at Surf Lanai, one of 4 onsite restaurants, or enjoy the ocean views at Azure Restaurant. Satisfy your hunger without leaving your room with room service, or entertain your taste buds with bite a the onsite restaurant or coffee shop/café. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and 37-inch a flat-screen TV with pay movies. Beds sport down comforters and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include an iPad, an iPod dock, and a refrigerator.


Property features

A local mainstay since 1927, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki offers a full-service spa, 2 outdoor pools, and an outdoor pool. Valet parking is USD 40.00 per night if you plan to drive, or hop aboard the airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 32 per person roundtrip. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with luggage storage, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach resort include a children's pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a spa tub.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Garden View (Historic Garden King)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room, 2 Double Beds, No View (Historic Room Double)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite (Historic Ocean)

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Double Beds, Garden View (Historic Garden Double)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

Everyone (26) Couples (91) Business (3) Family (65) Other (9) Friends (4)
4
Partner Couples

The hotel itself is beautiful. You enter the historic property surrounded by lush topiary and are greeted with an authentic lei. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a gorgeous courtyard in the center of the hotel. The pool is a little small but they have a relationship with a nearby hotel that has a much nicer, larger pool and water slide. That said, it is difficult to find available lounge chairs at either location, as most of them must be rented. The restaurant leave something to be desired as well, as the food/drink is overpriced and mediocre.

By on Jun 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice overall stay with us and enjoyed the hotel's history, however we are very sorry about the inconvenience you faced at our pools, along with the dining options on-property.

5
Partner Couples

The location was fantastic. Just nestled away in a quiet surrounding, but still in the heart of all the action and fun.

By on Jun 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2019

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

4
Everyone

By on Jun 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for your review!

5
Partner Couples

Hot tub closing at 6? Asinine for any hotel, much less a high rated resort!

By on Jun 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2019

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize about the hot tub closing at 6 p.m., however we are happy that everything else during your stay was great.

4
Families

Check in staff was horrible. Valet staff always amazing.

By on Jun 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2019

Aloha! Thank you for your review. We truly apologize that our check-in staff was disappointing. We will be sure that improvements are made to the service level so that future guests do not have to endure the same disappointment that you unfortunately did. We are however, very happy that our valet staff provided great service.

5
Everyone

By on Jun 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for your 5/5 review!

5
Everyone

Long walk to rooms no snack foods or a starbucks very small pool

By on May 19, 2019

Review comment responded on May 24, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a memorable stay with us, however regret to hear that the size of our pool and the walk to your room was inconvenient.

5
Families

great location, exquisite facility, friendly stuff

By on Apr 21, 2019

Review comment responded on May 11, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful comments!

5
Everyone

By on Mar 29, 2019

Review comment responded on May 11, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for rating us 5/5! We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

3
Families

Close to restaurants, shopping and beach. No adult room in hot tutor pool. Filled with kids all day and night. No coffee makers in rooms and the trash cans are microscopic.

By on Mar 25, 2019

Review comment responded on May 12, 2019

Aloha K.C., Thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We regret to hear that there were a number of disappointments that you faced during your stay, including your room not having a coffee maker and the small size of the trash cans. We will be sure your feedback is shared with our team in order to make improvements. We thank you for your feedback.

The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.