Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

4.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Architectural style of the building was so unique and the way they preserved it, it’s amazing!! Location the best and staff so nice!

We requested one king bed but got two double beds. We understood the wing we stayed was full, but we really wished that we got a king bed room as it was our wedding.

Property is centrally located. Walking distance to everything

Amazing and convenient to get around wakiki and the beach is amazing

The room we booked was the Banyan City View and it was very noisy. Music and cars from the street went on all morning and night. Security came into our room at 6AM (YES 6AM--Couldn't they have waited until at least 8AM?)) while we were sleeping to check on a leak in our bathroom. On another night someone opened our door and slammed it which woke us up but we never caught a glimpse of who it was because they opened and shut it closed so fast. No staff followed up on us regarding security coming into our room at 6am. The pool was also too crowded and people who woke up earlier than us would save the chairs by 7am! (Lets not forget due to the noises and interruptions we were up by 5:30-6am everyday.) They should not allow people to go out early and save the chairs and not come back to use them until later in the day. Many times we were out by the pool, all the chairs were saved and had towels on them with no one lounging on them. So we ended up renting the beach chairs and the Cabana to secure a spot to enjoy our vacation. Usually I would not complain or write a bad review but because I was sick with the flu and needed rest...I was irritable. We have stayed at the Moana Surfrider several times that we have visited Oahu and the other visits we were very pleased with the hotel. This time not so much and may not stay here in the future due to the lack of the hotel following up with us and being hospitable given the 6AM security storming into our room!

Property is beautiful and you never have to leave. Staff is amazing the views there are breathtaking. Hotel is located on the beach, you can walk from your room to the sand in minutes. You are located in the middle of Waikiki walking distance of everything and ubers can pick you up in front of the hotel.

The best vacation EVER! The beach is right at the back open patio. Along with the pool. Beach bar .. drinks yuck but the place is BEAUTIFUL rooms are spacious. See Nelly at the concierge desk for any activities. She helped us the whole time we were there.

Shower did not drained, toilet makes noise all night, cable tv kept loosing signal. Check-in took forever. Will never stay there again.

Room (3309) was small cramped. The bathroom was very small and lacked adequate shelf space. I travel all over the world and this room compares to an average room in a third world country. In Asia, the room rate for this room would be about $100/night.

Hotel staff were great. Protest was annoying at times but I’m sure that was their point. Will go back for sure.

Luxury despite protest; staff was great and accommodating.

Nice hotel on the beach. Staff was excellent!!! Will definitely come back and stay again!

Best part of our stay was the front desk help. He was awesome and accommodating. Valet staff was awesome, as well. Other than that, did not like being woken up by the picketers chanting on the beach at 7 AM! Then had to hear them in the front of the hotel the whole time we were in the area. Also, the room was really tiny! We basically had to squeeze by ea other to get around our luggage and the furniture to get to the really tiny bathroom. This room is ok for a single occupant. For two or more, really tiny! And the halls have an old smell to it.

2365 Kalakaua Avenue Honolulu HI

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Waikiki Beach and International Market Place
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa
  • Private beach

Located in Waikiki, Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach is next to popular attractions like Waikiki Beach and International Market Place. This 791-room, 4.5-star resort has a private beach, a full-service spa, and 2 restaurants.


Dining

Enjoy the ocean views at beachhouse at the moana, one of 2 onsite restaurants. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or entertain your taste buds with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a coffee maker, and a video-game console.


Property features

A local mainstay since 1901, Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach offers a private beach, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool. Parking is USD 35.00 per day (USD 45.00 per day for valet parking)—but if you prefer not to drive, catch a ride in the airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 16.00 per person one way. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with luggage storage, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach resort include a fitness center, a sauna, and WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, City View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Ocean View, Tower

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Premier Room, 1 King Bed, Ocean View, Tower

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, Oceanfront

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

Everyone (65) Couples (150) Business (8) Family (81) Friends (17) Other (23)
5
Everyone

Architectural style of the building was so unique and the way they preserved it, it’s amazing!! Location the best and staff so nice!

By on May 10, 2019

Review comment responded on May 16, 2019

Aloha, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. As the first hotel on Waikiki Beach in 1901, the Moana began a rich tradition of Hawaiian hospitality and luxury accommodations. Today, we aim to effortlessly blend the old-world charm and natural surroundings with modern comforts and amenities for our guests to unwind, relax, and rejuvenate. And I am delighted to hear you had enjoyed just this. We hope to welcome you back one day soon to create some new Moana memories. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha), Karen W. Guest Experience Team

4
Everyone

By on May 9, 2019

Review comment responded on May 16, 2019

Aloha, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I hope the Moana memories of you stay will be fondly remembered until your next visit. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team

4
Partner Couples Families

We requested one king bed but got two double beds. We understood the wing we stayed was full, but we really wished that we got a king bed room as it was our wedding.

By , from LA on Apr 22, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Aloha Yuki, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your wedding. Please accept our sincere apologies that we were unable to meet your bedding request. We will be sharing your comments with our team so we may make improvements. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Moana if your travels bring you back to Oahu. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team

5
Everyone

By on Apr 19, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Aloha, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I am delighted to see you had enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the Moana memories of your stay will be fondly remembered until your next stay. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team

5
Friends Families

Property is centrally located. Walking distance to everything

By on Apr 19, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Aloha NAYELI, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear you had enjoyed the Moana's oceanfront and central Waikiki location - being just mere steps away from Waikiki's premier shopping and dining. I hope to welcome you back one day soon. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team

5
Partner Couples

Amazing and convenient to get around wakiki and the beach is amazing

By on Apr 10, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear you had enjoyed your stay with us. From enjoying our oceanfront and central Waikiki location to enjoying your time at Waikiki Beach - I hope the Moana memories created during your stay will be fondly remembered until your next visit. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team

4
Partner Couples

The room we booked was the Banyan City View and it was very noisy. Music and cars from the street went on all morning and night. Security came into our room at 6AM (YES 6AM--Couldn't they have waited until at least 8AM?)) while we were sleeping to check on a leak in our bathroom. On another night someone opened our door and slammed it which woke us up but we never caught a glimpse of who it was because they opened and shut it closed so fast. No staff followed up on us regarding security coming into our room at 6am. The pool was also too crowded and people who woke up earlier than us would save the chairs by 7am! (Lets not forget due to the noises and interruptions we were up by 5:30-6am everyday.) They should not allow people to go out early and save the chairs and not come back to use them until later in the day. Many times we were out by the pool, all the chairs were saved and had towels on them with no one lounging on them. So we ended up renting the beach chairs and the Cabana to secure a spot to enjoy our vacation. Usually I would not complain or write a bad review but because I was sick with the flu and needed rest...I was irritable. We have stayed at the Moana Surfrider several times that we have visited Oahu and the other visits we were very pleased with the hotel. This time not so much and may not stay here in the future due to the lack of the hotel following up with us and being hospitable given the 6AM security storming into our room!

By , from San Francisco, CA on Apr 9, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Aloha Niki, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconveniences and disappointments during your stay. It is our goal to provide outstanding and renewing services for our guests. We apologize that this was not what you had experienced. We will be sharing your feedback with our team so we may make improvements on these areas. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so you may see improvements. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team

5
Friends

Property is beautiful and you never have to leave. Staff is amazing the views there are breathtaking. Hotel is located on the beach, you can walk from your room to the sand in minutes. You are located in the middle of Waikiki walking distance of everything and ubers can pick you up in front of the hotel.

By , from Irvine, ca on Apr 9, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Aloha mrs.b, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear you had enjoyed your stay. From our oceanfront and central Waikiki location to the beautiful architecture of the Moana. I hope the Moana memories of your stay will be fondly remembered until your next stay. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha), Karen W. Guest Experience Team

5
Families Partner Couples Families

The best vacation EVER! The beach is right at the back open patio. Along with the pool. Beach bar .. drinks yuck but the place is BEAUTIFUL rooms are spacious. See Nelly at the concierge desk for any activities. She helped us the whole time we were there.

By on Apr 1, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear you call your stay at the Moana the "best vacation EVER!" Thank you for taking the time to recognize Nelly. Our associates are proud to provide warm Hawaiian hospitality to our guests, and I am delighted to hear that is what you had experienced. I hope the Moana memories of your stay will be fondly remembered until your next stay. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team

5
Everyone

By on Feb 14, 2019

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815