Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

2.0 out of 5.0

Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Location was great. Landscaping was beautiful. Well maintained on the exterior. Our room located in the annex across the street from the main hotel provided a beautiful and closeup view of the ocean few other hotels in the area provide. That's the good. Interior-wise the handle to our shower fell off the first time we used it. Several days later maintenance finally showed up and said it was fixed. It wasn't. Finally near the end of our 10 day stay maintenance replaced it. Towels were not always provided every day, bed sheets seldom changed, and the room was only vacuumed twice despite our frequent mentioning about cleanliness. I believe it really mattered on who you spoke to on whether anything got done, and frequently that wasn't management. When we turned on the ceiling fan early during our stay black particulate flew off of it covering the bedding, the furniture, and the floor. It took them 3 days to clean up that mess. It's a nice hotel with much potential but I think management needs training and certainly many of the staff regarding proper hotel functioning. The continental breakfast was sub-par to what you expect in the continental states and the drink machine was broken during our entire stay but the simple food was adequate and cheaper than the alternative breakfast options..You just might grow weary of the offerings quickly, as my wife did.

Close to a lot - beaches, restaurants, boat tours, shops, trolley pick-up

Charming hotel very close to shopping street and sea site.

Right in the middle of town, walking to the shops and all food services. Hotel is older but true HAWAII. Great staff and they make you feel like they are part of family.

Toilet seat and bath tub disgusting, room over all not clean, walls, light switches filthy, hum/buz noise all day in the room hard to fall asleep. Facilities poorly maintained and managed, included breakfast was depressive, even the background music in the breakfast area was one (only one) royalty free abstruct guitar melody, and every day they played the same song (!) on loop for 3 hours...pathetic. Bread, peanut butter, and something called jam (flavored corn cyrup), coffee. The only great thing is we stayed at the Annex building with amazing partial ocean view. Rest of the hotel has no view.

The room was very outdated. Smelled very old. The beds were uncomfortable. There was barely any toilet paper in the bathroom. The toilet paper roll was near empty. When we asked the staff for more toilet paper and towels they seemed to be irritated. There was mildew on the shower curtains. Found 2 cockroaches in the bathroom. Very bad experience.

No free parking, rooms are old and dirty plus cockroaches...

This is nice motel for the price. Staff was very friendly. The room was very clean with little Hawaiian touches. Motel is right on the ocean and main road of the “resort” area. People who have given this place poor reviews based on being rundown must be expected this place to be a “resort” like the “four seasons”. It’s just an older motel that may have been the place to stay back in the day. A little paint can go a long way to spruce it up.

Stay somewhere else. The air conditioning didn't work, the ice machine didn't work and the TV didn't work. All are a ammeneties that should be expected to be functioning prior to checking in. They obviously have an endless supply of first time customers that they don't care if any of them ever return!!!

Good location and staff. Rooms could use updates. Parking fees weren’t disclosed during booking. Good value.

This is an older Hotel property and one should not expect the anything other than that. Some of the décor is a little dated and some areas are in need of maintenance, but the grounds are well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. Pros. The location is excellent. The staff is very friendly and pleasant. Our room was clean, spacious and had an ocean view. It is within walking distance to shopping and dining and water sports Cons. The Bed was a bit soft for us as we prefer a firm mattress. The Housekeepers were friendly, however they did forgot to replace things like soap and toilet paper etc... Overall If you have realistic expectations and you plan on spending most of your time out exploring Kona and the Island, you can't beat the location and can have a very satisfying stay here, however If you want all the amenities of a Ritz or Four Seasons Hotel, then this is not the place for you.

It was just after Ironman. Place was packed at the beginning. A good value.

The only good thing about this is location. It is close to a lot of good restaurant's and shops. The room is dated and my room was not clean..

Close to the beach, staff was awesome. The showers could use a deep cleaning with bleach, as you can see dirty residues on the walls if the shower. The carpets could use shampooing, when walking in the unit without shoes/ slippers the carpet feels really dirty. And housekeeping staff should check the safe’s as the one I had in 1020 was not working, needed to be serviced. And they should check the refrigerator as there was things left In there from previous guest.

We stay at the top floor our door wouldn’t lock so they changed us room to the third floor well our door was still giving us problems we had to wait about two minutes play with the handle so the door would lock the first night the lady in the kitchen for breakfast was rude.. the hotel could upgrade there ac but the stay was nice all and all

Had cockroaches. Holes in the wall. Small details like the shower curtain was held in place with a piece of cardboard. Could be a nice place with some upkeep

This hotel room was dirty- moldy- sticky- and gross. I will not stay there again. Carpets were dirty and sticky. Bathroom had mold. There were no luggage tables. Had to keep luggage on dirty floor. The breakfast was weak. No eggs- no meat- no waffles or other hot food.

75-5739 Alii Dr Kailua-Kona HI

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool
  • Laundry facilities

Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel places you within a 15-minute drive of popular attractions such as Magic Sands Beach and Kahalu'u Beach Park. This 145-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi. In central Kailua-Kona, the hotel is also close to Mokuaikaua Church and Hulihee Palace.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:00 AM.


Rooms

Guests can enjoy cable TV and stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a balcony and a refrigerator.


Property features

Guests of Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel enjoy an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Self parking is offered for USD 10 per night. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, laundry facilities, and a picnic area.

Room options

Deluxe Room, Partial Ocean View

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Superior Studio, Kitchenette, Ocean View

Queen 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Superior Room

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Everyone (53) Couples (81) Business (6) Family (40) Other (34) Friends (12)
3
Families

Location was great. Landscaping was beautiful. Well maintained on the exterior. Our room located in the annex across the street from the main hotel provided a beautiful and closeup view of the ocean few other hotels in the area provide. That's the good. Interior-wise the handle to our shower fell off the first time we used it. Several days later maintenance finally showed up and said it was fixed. It wasn't. Finally near the end of our 10 day stay maintenance replaced it. Towels were not always provided every day, bed sheets seldom changed, and the room was only vacuumed twice despite our frequent mentioning about cleanliness. I believe it really mattered on who you spoke to on whether anything got done, and frequently that wasn't management. When we turned on the ceiling fan early during our stay black particulate flew off of it covering the bedding, the furniture, and the floor. It took them 3 days to clean up that mess. It's a nice hotel with much potential but I think management needs training and certainly many of the staff regarding proper hotel functioning. The continental breakfast was sub-par to what you expect in the continental states and the drink machine was broken during our entire stay but the simple food was adequate and cheaper than the alternative breakfast options..You just might grow weary of the offerings quickly, as my wife did.

By on Feb 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 11, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for your review and feedback. I sincerely apologize that you had some less than satisfactory experiences with the interior of your room. I'm sorry to hear that your room was not serviced frequently enough, and I will be in contact with the hotel staff regarding this issue. It is our desire to ensure that every guest has a positive experience, and I deeply regret that our service missed the mark. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. Mahalo

4
Everyone

Close to a lot - beaches, restaurants, boat tours, shops, trolley pick-up

By on Feb 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 5, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you are on the Big Island! Mahalo

4
Everyone

Charming hotel very close to shopping street and sea site.

By on Jan 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 17, 2019

Aloha! Thank you so much for your feedback! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island! Mahalo!

5
Everyone

Right in the middle of town, walking to the shops and all food services. Hotel is older but true HAWAII. Great staff and they make you feel like they are part of family.

By on Jan 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 17, 2019

Aloha! We are pleased that you had a wonderful experience with our Kona Bay Ohana! Thank you for your great feedback, and we hope to see you again next time you are on the Big Island! Mahalo!

2
Everyone

Toilet seat and bath tub disgusting, room over all not clean, walls, light switches filthy, hum/buz noise all day in the room hard to fall asleep. Facilities poorly maintained and managed, included breakfast was depressive, even the background music in the breakfast area was one (only one) royalty free abstruct guitar melody, and every day they played the same song (!) on loop for 3 hours...pathetic. Bread, peanut butter, and something called jam (flavored corn cyrup), coffee. The only great thing is we stayed at the Annex building with amazing partial ocean view. Rest of the hotel has no view.

By on Jan 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2019

We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations at Kona Bay Hotel. We are hoping you notified our manager of your dissatisfaction so that your complaints could have been remedied. Cleanliness of the room is very important and has been addressed. We do not use loop music, it is a local radio station with Hawaiian music. We offer hot and cold cereal, bread, muffins, mini danish, juices, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, Smuckers jam and peanut butter. Our third and fourth floors have an ocean view. We are pleased that you enjoyed your kitchenette unit with an ocean view! Thank you for staying with us.

1
Everyone

The room was very outdated. Smelled very old. The beds were uncomfortable. There was barely any toilet paper in the bathroom. The toilet paper roll was near empty. When we asked the staff for more toilet paper and towels they seemed to be irritated. There was mildew on the shower curtains. Found 2 cockroaches in the bathroom. Very bad experience.

By on Jan 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 15, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely regret that our staff did not provide the quality service that we strive to give to every guest. We are looking into this matter to prevent it from happening again. Mahalo

2
Everyone

No free parking, rooms are old and dirty plus cockroaches...

By on Jan 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 23, 2019

Free parking is available behind the hotel parking lot. Hawaii has a tropical climate and roaches unfortunately are a part of it. Our property is sprayed monthly by a commerical company and we do in house spraying as well. We are currently remodeling and hope you will give us a second chance. Mahalo

4
Everyone

This is nice motel for the price. Staff was very friendly. The room was very clean with little Hawaiian touches. Motel is right on the ocean and main road of the “resort” area. People who have given this place poor reviews based on being rundown must be expected this place to be a “resort” like the “four seasons”. It’s just an older motel that may have been the place to stay back in the day. A little paint can go a long way to spruce it up.

By on Jan 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2019

Thank you for your comments. Many times people expect accomodation of the resort hotel which we are not. Yes, we are older and in the process of remodeling! We hope you will consider us again. Aloha

1
Everyone

Stay somewhere else. The air conditioning didn't work, the ice machine didn't work and the TV didn't work. All are a ammeneties that should be expected to be functioning prior to checking in. They obviously have an endless supply of first time customers that they don't care if any of them ever return!!!

By on Dec 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2019

Aloha, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We are looking into your concerns, and we are in the process of remodeling our rooms. I do apologize again. Mahalo

4
Everyone

Good location and staff. Rooms could use updates. Parking fees weren’t disclosed during booking. Good value.

By on Dec 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2019

Aloha, Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm pleased you had a positive experience with our location and staff. We are in the process of remodeling our rooms to better accommodate our guests. We hope you will visit us again! Mahalo

Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

75-5739 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740